Dirtbags salvage 3-game series with Sunday win

Box score LOS ANGELES, Calif. — Devin Lohman had a night to forget on Friday, striking out all four times he came up at Dedeaux Field. Sunday afternoon, he got the game-winning RBI on a soft ground ball with the bases loaded and one out in the top of the[Read More…]

Dirtbags’ late rally falls short in season opener

Box score LOS ANGELES, Calif. — The velocity was too much for the Long Beach State Dirtbags, falling at the hands of the University of Southern California Trojans, 5-2, Friday night at Dedeaux Field. The Trojans (1-0) jumped out to an early lead behind starting pitcher Brad Boxberger, who kept[Read More…]

Draftee, former Dirtbag starts living the dream

Editor’s note: David Roberts is a senior communications major who pitched for the Long Beach State Dirtbags for two seasons before being drafted in Major League Baseball’s First-Year Player Draft. Roberts was a fourth round draft pick (141st overall selection) by the Cleveland Indians. The day had finally come: June[Read More…]

MLB’s playoff format needs to include best teams

After his team didn’t make it into the postseason after qualifying 12 years in a row, Hank Steinbrenner, co-chairman of the New York Yankees, issued a statement badmouthing the postseason qualification format. He was specifically upset that the Los Angeles Dodgers made it in with an 84-78 record, but the[Read More…]

NL MVP race not so close

The voters made the right choice giving the National League’s Most Valuable Player award to St. Louis Cardinals slugger Albert Pujols. Sure, Philadelphia Phillies first baseman Ryan Howard led the majors with 48 home runs and 146 RBIs, but two numbers shouldn’t make up for his glaring statistics: batting average[Read More…]

Longoria unanimously wins AL Rookie of the Year

Tampa Bay Rays third baseman Evan Longoria received the storybook ending to his fairy-tale season: the American League Rookie of the Year award. A former Long Beach State standout, Longoria was a unanimous selection for the honor voted on by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America and announced Monday. The[Read More…]

Daily 49er newsletter